Facebook’s New “Snooze” Feature Will Let You Mute Notifications From Specific Users

CuriousBytes: Facebook’s new feature, “Snooze” has finally made its way to the public after being in test mode for the past couple of months. Here is everything you need to know about it and learn how to use it.

The Social Media giant always experiments with new features like Streaks in Messenger or Facebook’s Text Delight feature to improve the experience of its users. In the past, we have seen Facebook launching new features like instant games and also bidding bye to some of the legacy features as well.

The recent addition to the list of Facebook’s new feature is the implementation of much needed “Snooze” feature. This feature was spotted being tested on some selected users back in September. Finally, Facebook has made this feature official by detailing it on their newsroom website.

This feature gives users more control over their News Feed by disabling annoying posts you come across in your news feed.

One of our core News Feed values is giving people more control. Over the next week, we’re launching Snooze, which will give you the option to temporarily unfollow a person, Page or group for 30 days. By selecting Snooze, you won’t see content from those people, Pages or groups in your News Feed for that time period.”, said Shruthi Muraleedharan, product manager at Facebook.

How Does This Feature Help Me?

Users on Facebook often have a bad experience in seeing the same kind of posts or posts from the same person as a result of posts related to them. The news feed will be clogged up by too many related posts of your previous engagement. Whether it be from your friends, pages you have liked or from the groups, you are part of.

The Snooze feature is to rescue people from such exasperating News feed suggestions. With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time.

Snooze

Posted by Facebook on Wednesday, December 13, 2017

How To use Facebook Snooze Feature?

To Snooze posts from your Timeline you have to follow two simple steps:

Step-1

Click on the top-right drop-down menu of the post that you want to Snooze

Step-2

From the drop-down menu, simply select ‘Snooze (name of the page, the person or the group) for 30 days’ or other time periods that you want to mute it for. That’s it, from now on you don’t see posts related to that in your feed. This is a better option as you don’t have to Unfriend/unfollow or block them.

Also Read: Facebook To Copy Another Interesting Feature From Snapchat

More News Feed Controls:

Apart from this new Snooze feature, there are some existing options that allow you to control the notification alerts. For instance, the “Turn on or Turn off notifications for this post” option which you can choose from the post options will help you to follow or unfollow the posts you want to engage.

Do you think this snooze feature will give more control to users over their News Feed? Tell us your opinion through the comments below.

1 Shares

CuriousPost

We Curate Best Tech Stories For You!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.